State law requires anyone who suspects child abuse or neglect to report those suspicions to the Texas Department of Family and Protective Services (DFPS) or to a local law enforcement agency.
Any person making a report to DFPS is immune from civil or criminal liability as long as the report is made in good faith.
The reporter's name is also confidential and will not be provided directly to the accused person by any DFPS employee. There are circumstances under which DFPS is required to disclose a reporter's identity to law enforcement, a court of law, or another state agency.
A person who suspects child abuse or neglect, but fails to report it, can be charged with a misdemeanor or state jail felony. Remember, reporting suspected child abuse or neglect makes it possible for a child to get help.
This secure website provides a way to explain your concerns in writing
You must provide your name and a valid e-mail address
Your identity will remain confidential and will not be provided directly to the accused person by any DFPS employee
Once an intake specialist processes your report, you will receive a confirmation e-mail with a Call Identification Number
The email will also tell you whether or not your report was forwarded to a local DFPS office for further investigation
Please note that the Internet Reporting System is for non-urgent situations. Receipt of internet reports may be delayed during times of high call volume to the Texas Abuse Hotline. The Internet Reporting System should NOT be used in urgent or emergency situations, including but not limited to:
Injuries to a child age 5 or under or serious injuries to any age child
Immediate need for medical care (including a suicidal child)
Sexual abuse where the perpetrator has access or will have access to the child in the near future
A child age 5 or younger who is alone or is likely to be left alone in the next 24 hours
Any other situation you feel requires a response within 24 hours
Call in reports about these (and similar situations) to the
Texas Abuse Hotline at 1-800-252-5400.
Always call local law enforcement first if a child is in imminent danger.